MIT Change Maker Awards | About

MIT Change Maker Awards

MIT recognizes outstanding students, faculty, and staff for their work to combat sexual misconduct with the annual Change Makers Awards, started in April 2017. Because much of this work is invisible, the Awards are meant to highlight those who affect positive change in our community. Read more here. Look out for a Call to Nominate this upcoming spring.

Change Makers Awards, 2017. 

2017 Change Maker Award Recipients

Undergraduate Student: Charlie Andrews-Jubelt, for his contributions as a member of Students Advocating for Education and Respectful Relationships (SAFER2) and founding peer educator in PLEASURE. Andrews-Jubelt is known for speaking up to challenge harmful cultural norms.

Graduate Student: Priya Moni, for her initiative to improve the online sexual harassment training programs new students take during orientation by adding content tailored to the MIT community.

Student Group: MIT's Interfraternity Council's Sexual Misconduct Committee, for designing the Consent Awareness and Prevention (CAP) certification program to recognize fraternities who prioritize member education.

Faculty/Staff: Professor David Singer, associate professor of Political Science and associate Head of House at MacGregor, for his work chairing the Presidential Committee on Sexual Misconduct Prevention and Response. Singer spearheaded the effort to ensure all faculty and staff receive training on sexual misconduct prevention as well as how to respond to a student who discloses a sexual misconduct incident.

PLEASURE Peer Educator of the Year: Brittney Johnson, for her consistent positive energy, dedication, and constructive criticism as a member of the PLEASURE Executive Board. Johnson has also instituted proactive changes to improve the group’s operations.